Can you eat ghee if you are lactose intolerant?

Can you eat ghee if you are lactose intolerant

Can you eat ghee if you are lactose intolerant?

Do you have a lactose intolerance and are looking for a butter alternative? Is it okay to eat ghee?

If you’re lactose intolerant, then you know that dairy can be a real pain in the butt (and stomach!) But what about ghee?

Here’s what you need to know.

Ghee is made by simmering butter, at very low temperature, until the water evaporates, and the milk solids settle at the bottom. The solids are then caramelised and then removed.  What is left behind is a pure, golden oil that is rich in nutrients and flavour. (If you want to know what ghee taste like click here)

The milk solids that are removed include casein and lactose two common allergens. With 99.9% of the lactose removed, it means that it is considerably lower in lactose than regular butter.

Many people use ghee as a butter alternative if they are intolerant to lactose.

In addition to being lower in lactose, ghee also contains higher levels of butyric acid, a short-chain fatty acid that has been shown to have anti-inflammatory effects and healing on the gut lining.   This is good news as being lactose intolerant has symptoms of nausea, gas, bloating, cramps caused by the inability to break down lactose in the small intestine.  Read here for more signs, symptoms and how lactose intolerance occurs.

Most with lactose intolerance sadly swap butter for less desirable and chemically laden products such as margarine.  These products do nothing to improve wellbeing.  If you are looking for a butter alternative that spreads, cooks and taste like butter and is healthy for you, then ghee is your answer.

In summary, can you eat ghee if you are lactose intolerant?  Yes.

So, if you are lactose intolerant and looking for a butter alternative that you can cook with and is still rich in nutrients and flavour, ghee may be a good option for you.

Just be sure to check with your doctor or dietitian first to make sure it is okay for you to consume.

Can I Substitute Ghee for Butter? The Benefits of Swapping.

Can I substitue ghee for butter

There are a lot of butter alternatives on the market these days. If you’re looking for a butter alternative, you may be wondering if you can substitute Ghee for Butter. The answer is yes and there are many benefits to swapping butter for ghee in your diet. Let’s take a look at how Ghee and butter differ, and some of the benefits of making the switch!

Ghee has no milk solids – this means that there is no lactose, casein, or anything else that can affect those with dairy intolerances. Butter, on the other hand, contains all of these things. So, if you’re looking for a dairy-free option, Ghee is the way to go as a butter substitute.

Another difference between Ghee and butter is shelf life. Ghee can be stored in the back of your cupboard for years without going bad. Butter, on the other hand, will only last for a few months in the fridge. So, if you’re looking for an ingredient that will last longer, Ghee is a great choice.

Ghee has a higher smoking point than butter. This means that it can be used for cooking at higher temperatures without burning. Butter will start to smoke and burn at lower temperatures, so it’s not the best choice for cooking.  In many recipes Ghee as a substitute for butter is the obvious choice.  Cake do become a little more denser but biscuits are yum!  Here’s our favourtie ghee biscuit recipe – they’re a little like your favourite melting moments.

Ghee is the healthier option compared with butter.

Studies have shown Ghee has been shown to reduce cholesterol and inflammation levels in the body while boosting immunity. In fact, there are a whole range of health benefits to ghee that butter does not have – here are the 10 health benefits of ghee if you want to dive deep.

There are many advantages to swapping out butter and using Ghee as the alternative in your diet. So, if you’re looking for a healthier, dairy-free option with a longer shelf life, Ghee is a perfect choice. Give it a try and see how you like it. You might just find that you never go back to butter again!

If you have any questions, feel free to email us and I’ll be happy to answer them.

Do you have any tips for making the switch from butter to ghee? Let us know on our socials and be sure to check out our other blog posts for more ways you can swap our butter and use ghee as a healthy butter substitute.

Lactose Free Ghee

omghee lactose free ghee 1

One of the common questions we get asked is “can ghee be eaten by those wanting a lactose free alternative?” 

The short answer is yes, mostly….depending.  Ghee has many health benefits and being super super super low is one of them.   If you have lactose intolerance, then yes, you can definitely eat ghee. If you are highly allergic the answer is still yes, but don’t.

I’ll explain.

The transformation of boring butter into the magical goodness of golden ghee requires a slow and consistent cook. During the process all of the milk solids rise to the surface.  Once risen they then slowly begin to drop to the bottom of the pan to sit and become toasty brown (producing a gorgeous taste of caramelised, butterscotch toffee).

Once the cook is over and slightly cooled the ghee is strained several times through layers of fine cloth.

This is to ensure none of the milk solids get into the final product.

The problem with saying ghee is 100% lactose free is despite taking the ghee through the straining process multiple times there are no guarantee all micro particles are removed.

In fact, to ensure each and every jar of OMGhee is lactose free, each jar would need to be put through a laboratory test.  This would make the production of small batch homemade ghee guaranteed to be 100% lactose free unviable. So, if you are highly allergic to lactose we recommended sadly you’re best to give it a miss.

That said, many lactose intolerant people use ghee as a butter replacement in their home; using it freely on a consistent and daily basis.  Successfully experiencing the benefits of ghee without any negative side effects. We are confident, if this is you, OMGhee is the perfect ghee, and healthy butter alternative for you.

Important: avoid purchasing ghee with the word clarified butter on the label because ‘technically’ it’s not real ghee.  If you are genuinely seeking 100% ‘lactose free’ ghee then you would be wise to avoid ghee produced and sold as clarified butter.  While ghee at one stage during the transformation process is technically clarified butter, it is not until it is taken and cooked further that it becomes ghee – and lactose free.

So in answer the question, is ghee lactose free? Mostly, maybe, depending, yes, no…. – see above.

PS – Stay tuned for the experiments and yummy goodness we are creating from this golden ghee ‘waste’ – think apple crumble taken to the next level.